Character & Mental Toughness- The Character Climb: Steps to be The Best

Don’t tell me, show me.  That’s modern teaching and coaching in a nutshell.  Young people like a story well told but tend to learn visually.

I speak with my students and players, and also share things to read with  them.  But in my efforts to try to convey my message, I needed to come up with  something they could look at.

So what I envisioned was something that would convey how learning and then applying certain character traits was required in order to take specific steps towards their goals.

So I drew stairs.  Simple enough.

I called it the character climb and I have applied it to a variety of areas.

Below are links to two PDF’s which demonstrate how the interjection of specific character traits can help you advance to the next level.  The first is a general visualization that may be applicable to any endeavor.  The second is an application of this visualization that I give to my team in order to convey how important off-season weight training is to their future success.

Read Coach Moore’s new book “On Character and Mental Toughness” available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon and Kindle.

character climb-the best

character climb-off season strength training

About coachbillmoore

Educator/Author/Speaker/HS & NCAA Coach Character Coach Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. "The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing." -Coach Bill Moore
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment