Character & Mental Toughness-Out of Your Hands

I firmly believe that much of our lives are in our own hands.  That there is a means for all of us to make the most of our circumstance.  But I also try to temper those beliefs so as to remember that we are simply flecks of dust on a fleck of dust.  I subscribe to a couple of feeds that balance my enthusiasm and passion and remind me of my own insignificance.

 

Yesterday there were 269 tornado warnings and dozens of tornadoes across the United States.

The picture above was taken across the street from my son’s high school yesterday afternoon.  He was spared.  Others in towns only a few miles to the north, west, and south of this picture were devastated.

Call it what you will, but all of us succeed or fail, live or die, by some measures well beyond our control.   I will not dwell on the bad things that could happen.  I will reflect on them only to keep balance and perspective.

This picture reminds me to be grateful for what I have, and to have empathy for others, because some are spared and others are not, and a great deal of that is beyond anyone’s control.

About coachbillmoore

Educator/Author/Speaker/HS & NCAA Coach Character Coach Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. "The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing." -Coach Bill Moore
This entry was posted in character and mental toughness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Character & Mental Toughness-Out of Your Hands

  1. pro356rick says:

    Thanks for a great post under trying circumstances. Glad to hear you son and friends were OK.

  2. Sandra says:

    Amen, to that! My son lives very close to Henryville, IN and was to be driving through there yesterday just as the tornadoes where going through. Thankfully, the school knew enough to cancel the basketball tournament so the kids weren’t on the road. In such a short time soooo much devastation. The area is only a short drive from my old home and I know the peopl there will find incredible stories of character as they pull together and rebuild. One thing I know, the storms may have destroyed the buildings but it can not destroy the community!

  3. living4bliss says:

    Life is short and we are not promised tomorrow. We must live everyday as if it were our last, but prepare as if it were not.

    I spent 15 years of my life in a small town in central PA called Johnstown. It is most famous for the desvastating killer floods which come on without notice. Most of the citizens live for the moment because of this.

Leave a Reply

