Character & Mental Toughness- The Picture Above My Desk

This picture has been taped up over my football office desk since 2002.

In 1994, I had an interview at Williams College for a full time offensive line position.

 

I was only a first year graduate assistant at Springfield College at the time, and there were far better qualified candidates than I that applied for the job. I prepared as hard as I could for the interview, and I was disappointed when I didn’t get the job, but it was a day that changed my life in many ways.

The head coach toured me around campus and we had lunch. His character was evident in everything he did. He was competitive, yet kind; brilliant, but humble; personable, yet reserved. He took something away from every encounter with everyone we met throughout that afternoon, the professors, the coaches, the maintenance workers, the cafeteria staff; and he gave something back.

I came across this picture almost a decade later and have looked at it almost every day since. I immediately knew what it meant, at least to me. The picture is in the final minute of the renowned Amherst-Williams game. The score shows Williams about to complete an undefeated season in 1998. At the center, in the glasses, is Williams Head Coach Dick Farley.

This is the moment I strive for, not for my own success, but to be able to see those I coach, and those I coach with, erupt in joy in having achieved something great after months, really years, of sacrifice. My greatest satisfaction lies in seeing others reach this moment, both on the field and off it, both now, and throughout their lives.  I think any parent, teacher, coach or leader of merit strives for the same moment.

About coachbillmoore

Educator/Author/Speaker/HS & NCAA Coach Character Coach Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. "The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing." -Coach Bill Moore
This entry was posted in character and mental toughness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Character & Mental Toughness- The Picture Above My Desk

  1. They should, but sadly some don’t have the maturity and instead are jealous. Anyway, I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

