Character & Mental Toughness- To Don’t List

Many of us ritually make our list of things to accomplish each day; but have you made your list of things to not accomplish?

Like many, I find myself doing things I don’t really need or want to do. I tend to remember things, so I’m pretty protective about what I expose my mind to, but sometimes I find myself watching unappealing TV shows. Other times, actually many times, I eat for no reason. I will also drink another cup of coffee when I don’t really want to. A more recent example was when I found myself letting someone take up too much of my time with idle conversations I didn’t gain much from.

Much is made of taking a positive approach. But the positive is only one perspective, and is the truth of something not better discovered by viewing it from as many perspectives as possible? Sometimes it might be wise to take the negative approach (To don’t).

If I eliminate the things I don’t want to do today, I will most certainly free some of my day for other pursuits. I will fill that time with something I like, or even better, discover something new to like.

So today I will make my to don’t list at the bottom of my to do list.

About coachbillmoore

Educator/Author/Speaker/HS & NCAA Coach Character Coach Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. "The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing." -Coach Bill Moore
This entry was posted in character and mental toughness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Character & Mental Toughness- To Don’t List

  1. I really like your to don’t list post! I started reading Dino and couldn’t stop, even though it was a bit long. I’m glad you found your voice and are writing to share it with us. I also loved the Native American Wisdom – lots of very wise words!
    I’m glad our paths crossed.

Leave a Reply

