Character & Mental Toughness- Impose Your Will

Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. You can get the e-book version for just $2.99 on Kindle or itunes. You can also get the e-book for your smartphone using the free Kindle App!

Your will is stronger than you can imagine.

Your will is incredibly powerful.

Impose your will.

Don’t wait to have the will.  You already have it.

Impose your will.

Don’t look around for it, that’s a waste of time.  It’s already there.

Impose your will.

Can’t seem to start working out?  Impose your will.  Can’t seem to pay attention to your work or studies?  Impose your will. Can’t say no to dessert?  Impose your will.  Stuck in a bad situation? Impose your will.

Say it!

IMPOSE YOUR WILL!

When you impose your will you summon all of your resources and use them to your advantage. You find an intensity and focus that can propel you to achieve your goals. When you impose your will you discover inner depths of strength you were never aware of.  When you impose your will you can achieve things you thought were impossible.

When you impose your will you sublimate all the feelings that get in the way of your achieving what you want to achieve.  When you impose your will, you blast right past those feelings and tap into the power of your soul.

I once wrote that the thing I was most petrified of was my own will.  It’s terrifying to know you are capable of anything.  Usually that type of statement carries negative connotations;  and that might be part of the fear.  I know I could impose my will to lift something I have no business lifting. I know I could impose my will in an effort to jump from a great height, or swim a great distance.  Obviously these things could lead me to great trouble.  So I have to be cognizant about when I impose my will.  To know you have the will to attempt anything is scary.  Thankfully, I have been pretty smart about imposing my will through the years.

But I also know I can impose my will in the positive sense.  I have imposed my will to accomplish things I could never imagine accomplishing.   Working a ridiculous amount of hours.  Performing at a ridiculous level.  Attacking problems that need to be addressed. Sustaining a high tempo over a long period of time.

Coaches sometimes talk about their team imposing their will on another team.  But I don’t think that’s true.  What is true is that you can impose your will on yourself.  On your own thoughts and feelings.  By imposing your will on yourself, you summon the strength, stamina, character and mental toughness necessary to defeat your opponent.  The opponent loses and you are victorious because you have imposed your will and competed to the very best of your abilities.

No team has imposed their will on another, no more than a person might impose their will on another.  Instead they have imposed their will on themselves and found the power to achieve what they want to achieve.  Teams imposing their will discover an intensity and focus that rivals can’t match because those rivals have not imposed their own will.

Don’t find your will.  That’s like finding a tool but never using it.

Impose your will.  You already have the tool, put it to work for you!

Impose your will.

I know I can,  so I know you can.

Tomorrow when the alarm goes off at 5 AM, rather than hitting the snooze the first thing I will tell myself is…

IMPOSE YOUR WILL!

Tomorrow when you want to do something and are having trouble getting started or finishing say to yourself…

IMPOSE YOUR WILL!

Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness”

Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or AmazonYou can get the e-book version for just $2.99 on Kindle or itunes. You can also get the e-book for your smartphone using the free Kindle App!

“The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing.” -Coach Bill Moore

About coachbillmoore

Educator/Author/Speaker/HS & NCAA Coach Character Coach Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. "The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing." -Coach Bill Moore
This entry was posted in character and mental toughness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Character & Mental Toughness- Impose Your Will

  1. living4bliss says:

    I love this!!!

    It is so straightforward and so powerful. You are right, we should be afraid of how much power we do have rather than being afraid of not having enough.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Impose your will!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I was referred to this site buy a wonderful person! Soooo glad he mentioned it to me! Amiee

  4. Steve says:

    XLNT!! I was watching LA Clippers May 13th 2015 semi conference playoff game, losing to the Houston Rockets on a game Clippers could have closed out the series. All the “experts” had the reasons for the clipper loss wrong. I believe the imposing of each players self will is what was missing. My Westchester High coaches in baseball and basketball use to talk about imposing your will, but your articulation to impose your will on yourself is a great angle.

Leave a Reply

