Character & Mental Toughness- Peyton’s Tears

I had a couple of coaches comment to me about Peyton Manning’s tearful departure from the Colts. They didn’t like all his crying.

When they said this I was a bit surprised. I thought to myself “why wouldn’t he cry?”

12 hours later their comments still bother me. Well, not their comments so much as the fact that they have such a different opinion than I.

Why do they feel that Peyton shouldn’t have cried?

I don’t know.  I can’t speak for them.

But I can tell you why I understand Peyton’s tears.

He was invested; completely invested. He literally gave his organization everything he had. Not just sweat, but thoughts. He gave his mind. He thought football 24/7 and not just when he was at work.  He gave everything and achieved his dreams as a result.

I think people have a tough time understanding that type of investment.  Some might only understand crying like that if something happened with their family.

Well that’s the type of investment some people give their teams, their jobs. Some people are passionate about what they do. Some people are willing to invest to the point where they will be devastated when it ends.

So I don’t feel bad for Peyton. I feel bad for people who can’t understand caring so much and so deeply that it gets tough to control your emotions.

Composure has it’s place and Manning certainly showed his over the years. I don’t remember seeing any tears when he was ripping up the NFL or bouncing back up after getting crushed in the pocket.

Some people just don’t understand heart.  I see a lot of that in the community I coach in.  Many people there believe in keeping your composure at all times.  So they hold back, lest they feel too much.  But, I don’t believe in using composure as an excuse for not investing to the point of tears.

My high school line coach often repeated the phrase “whatever you have, give; whatever you keep is lost forever.”  I took his words to heart and as I result I played with heart.  I bawled my eyes out after my last high school football game.  I gave to the point of tears.  I’m glad I did.

I’d rather give too much, then be one of those people who give too little.

“Winners, imagine their dreams 1st. They want it with all their heart & expect it to come true. There’s no other way to live.” -Joe Montana

About coachbillmoore

Educator/Author/Speaker/HS & NCAA Coach Character Coach Read Coach Moore’s book “On Character and Mental Toughness” Paperback available at Barnes & Noble or Amazon. "The measure of your character and mental toughness is the space between what you are doing and what you could be doing." -Coach Bill Moore
This entry was posted in character and mental toughness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Character & Mental Toughness- Peyton’s Tears

  1. living4bliss says:

    The Broncos would love to have him. One look at our beautiful mountains and he’ll forget the pain.

Leave a Reply

